3rd Anniversary Post (Majestic Corner Edition): INDEPENDENT WOMAN by eite Review

Today, WordPress reminded me that the 3rd/4th of February was my blog anniversary! I’m at a camp retreat right now as we speak so I wasn’t expecting it to come so soon. So in order to celebrate 3 years of this blog, I decided to review a song that has been my latest obsession since it’s release!


Being in a nugu group is hard, but jumping around from nugu group to nugu group due to unfortunate failures is even harder. That’s what I thought once I saw that Kwak Yujin was in this group.

She was in two groups before eite, which were LIPBUBBLE in 2017 (but then left that group the same year they debuted), and she was a pre-group member of ALLS-GIRLS in 2018 who unfortunately never debuted. In an upcoming series, the Veiled Corner where I talk about great hits from overshadowed artists, there’s been an unfortunate trend where certain idols would hop from group to group after their initial group disbands, and that’s if they come to fruition at all. So seeing Kwak Yujin in another group does make me happy but I hope that this one actually lasts this time, because they have a golden debut in their hands.

This song strongly reminds me of the poppy-pop songs that I would listen to back in middle and high school, with its classic retro elements and D minor key and all. So of course there’s a strong nostalgia factor to this song that always puts a little pep in my step. The MV also isn’t bad for a nugu group, and it’s nice to see how well utilized their budget was. All the girls did an incredible job but Ari’s vocal color (the girl with the pink hair) is just so refreshing to my eardrums. The second verse rap done by Chaehyun was very well-executed, the hook perfectly matches the song and I feel like this song is going to have a lengthy longevity factor with me and won’t be coming off my playlists for a while.

So with a song as good as this, I thought it’d be a perfect track to celebrate 3 years of the Floating Realm! Plus, let’s hope eite can continue to comeback with great music in the future.

This song gets a…

9/10


Thank you for reading! And an extra thank you for those who stuck around for a whopping 3 years and for those who are newer! I highly appreciate every reader and visitor to this blog so all of my thanks go to you all!

✨🩷🩵🤍✨

GIF source

Leave a comment